OUR STORY (SO FAR)

In early 2021, we became aware that Inclusive Health, a Brisbane homeless health service located in West End, was unable to afford to purchase flu vaccines for roughly 150 of their patients who were not eligible to receive a free flu vaccine under the National Immunisation Program (NIP) (which includes those with medical risk factors, pregnant women, first nations people, and those over 65).

 

We decided to do something about this, and raised enough money through community fundraising to support them to purchase 150 flu vaccines, as well as supporting Brisbane Youth Service (which supports young homeless populations) to purchase 60 flu vaccines for their patients.

 

We believed that cost should not be a barrier to preventative healthcare such as flu vaccines.

252346852_230346749193232_6553367797097885099_n.jpg
265393396_324556812846956_5836186158618809441_n.jpg

In the latter half of 2021, we realised that people experiencing homelessness were unlikely to want to, or even be able to, visit a vaccine hub to receive their COVID-19 vaccines, and so set up a number of pop-up outreach COVID vaccination clinics outside of traditional medical settings.

 

We are continuing these clinics, and expanding outside of Brisbane to help vulnerable populations across QLD access COVID-19 vaccines at pop-up outreach clinics, working with community organisations such as Orange Sky, as well as PHNs.

WHO WE ARE

With backgrounds in medicine, law and commerce, we are a diverse team with a common passion for health advocacy and a shared vision of health care as a fundamental human right. 

uq-contact-vacseen-jeremy-hunt-900x600.jpeg

Jeremy Hunt

Chief Executive Officer 

jeremy@vacseen.org.au

IMG_6912_edited.jpg

Varun Karnik

Chief Research Officer

varun@vacseen.org.au

hannah.jpg

Hannah Bates

Chief Operations Officer

hannah@vacseen.org.au

1568951526525.jfif

Jack Kelso-Ribbe

Chief Media Officer

jack@vacseen.org.au

1603355012697.jfif

Lili Wackwitz

Chief Financial Officer

lili@vacseen.org.au

Picture2.png

Pele Toussaint

Head of Partnerships

pele@vacseen.org.au

FieldingFamilyPhotos%2520(26%2520of%2520

Michael Fielding

Chief Compliance Officer

michael@vacseen.org.au